Recommend Print

College Wrestling Spotlight: Golden Gophers Win Second Straight NWCA Cliff Keen National Duals Over Oklahoma State 28-9

Kyle Carroll
27 February 2013
College Wrestling Spotlight: Golden Gophers Win Second Strai...

This past weekend the Williams Arena on the campus of the University of Minnesota hosted the National Wrestling Coaches Association Cliff Keen National Duals Mat Mayhem semi-finals and finals. Number two seed, Iowa, and number three, Minnesota, six, Missouri, and number one, Oklahoma State battled it out in the final two rounds on Saturday.

In the Semi-finals number two, Iowa Hawkeyes battled with the Minnesota Golden Gophers, a fight that the Golden Gophers prevailed by a team score of 22-15. Iowa won the first two matches, putting up nine points with a decision and pin fall.

The Gophers answered right away as they delivered a major, and a pin fall putting up ten points of their own. The Hawkeyes scored two more decision victories in a row, bringing their team to 15 team points. That would be the final points scored by the Hawkeyes in the semi-finals as Minnesota returned with four consecutive victories by decision giving them the victory 22-15, advancing to the finals.

Number one, Oklahoma State easily handled number six, Missouri in the semi-finals as they won seven of the ten matches, earning a victory by the score of 22-9. The top team in the nation advanced with ease after earning decisions in six of the seven victories, plus their major decision by number one, ranked Jordan Oliver. The Cowboys improved into the finals to face the defending NWCA National Duals champion Minnesota.

Semi-final Scores:

No. 1 Oklahoma State 22, No. 6 Missouri 9
Feb. 23, 2013 :: 1 p.m. :: Minneapolis, Minn. (Williams Center)
125: No. 4 Alan Waters (MU) dec. Eddie Klimara (OSU), 3-1
133: No. 6 Jon Morrison (OSU) dec. No. 4 Nathan McCormick (MU), 5-1
141: Nicholas Hucke (MU) dec. Julian Feikert (OSU), 4-1
149: No. 1 Jordan Oliver (OSU) MD No. 14 Drake Houdashelt (MU), 15-5
157: No. 10 Alex Dieringer (OSU) dec. No. 19 Kyle Bradley (MU), 6-2
165: No. 3 Tyler Caldwell (OSU) dec. No. 20 Zach Toal (MU), 4-0
174: No. 2 Chris Perry (OSU) dec. No. 13 Todd Porter (MU), 3-2
184: No. 12 Chris Chionuma (OSU) dec. No. 13 Mike Larson (MU), 6-4 SV1
197: No. 17 Brent Haynes (MU) dec. Darnell Bortz (OSU), 10-4
285: No. 3 Alan Gelogaev (OSU) dec. No. 1 Dom Bradley (MU), 4-3

#2 IOWA 15, #4 Minnesota 22
125 - #1 Matt McDonough (IA) dec. #13 David Thorn (M), 8-2; 3-0
133 - #2 Tony Ramos (IA) pinned #7 Chris Dardanes (M), 6:56; 9-0
141 - #8 Nick Dardanes (M) major dec. #7 Mark Ballweg (IA), 12-4; 9-4
149 - #11 Dylan Ness (M) pinned Michael Kelly (IA), 2:39; 9-10
157 - #1 Derek St. John (IA) dec. Danny Zilverberg (M), 7-4; 12-10
165 - #13 Nick Moore (IA) dec. #14 Cody Yohn (M), 3-2; 15-10
174 - #1 Logan Storley (M) dec. #3 Mike Evans (IA), 3-1; 15-13
184 - #5 Kevin Steinhaus (M) dec. Grant Gambrall (IA), 4-0; 15-16
197 - #10 Scott Shiller (M) dec. Nathan Burak (IA), 9-3; 15-19
285 -#2 Tony Nelson (M) dec. #6 Bobby Telford (IA), 3-1; 15-22


Number three, Minnesota took it to the number one, team in the land, Oklahoma State, as they lost to the Golden Gophers 28-9. The Gophers opened with three wins, including two decisions, one which ended in a tie-breaker, and a Major decision as they jumped out to a ten point team lead.

The Cowboys returned the favor winning the next three matches and putting up nine team points. The three work horses for the Cowboys, their number one, 149-pounder Jordan Oliver, number 10, 157-pounder Alex Dieringer, and number three, 165-pounder Tyler Caldwell all won by decision bringing their team within a point.

Minnesota’s core of the line-up came up and took over finishing the Cowboys as the Gophers won the last four matches. At 174, number one, Logan Storley of Minnesota went into overtime with Oklahoma state’s number two, Chris Perry. Storley ended up turning Perry in overtime for the victory at 8:20.

The next to matches at 184, and 197 were both decision victories for the Gophers as Kevin Steinhaus beat number twelve, Chris Chionuma 4-3, #10 Scott Schiller won over number eleven, Blake Rosholt 6-2. The number two, heavyweight in the country Tony Nelson, stuck it to his number three, ranked opponent Alan Gelogaev by pin fall at 4:50.

The Golden Gophers won the National Duals for a second year in a row, by a score of 28-9.

No. 3 Minnesota 28, No. 1 Oklahoma State 9
125 – #13 David Thorn (MINN) by dec. over Eddie Klimara (OK ST), 5-2
133 – #7 Chris Dardanes (MINN) by dec. (TB-2) over #6 Jonathon Morrison (OK ST), 4-2
141 – #8 Nick Dardanes (MINN) by major dec. over Julian Feikert (OK ST), 14-5
149 – #1 Jordan Oliver (OK ST) by dec. over #11 Dylan Ness (MINN), 6-4
157 – #10 Alex Dieringer (OK ST) by dec. over Danny Zilverberg (MINN), 3-1
165 – #3 Tyler Caldwell (OK ST) by dec. over #14 Cody Yohn (MINN), 7-2
174 – #1 Logan Storley (MINN) by fall (OT) over #2 Chris Perry (OK ST), 8:20
184 – #5 Kevin Steinhaus (MINN) by dec. over #12 Chris Chionuma (OK ST), 4-3
197 – #10 Scott Schiller (MINN) by dec. over #11 Blake Rosholt (OK ST), 6-2
285 – #2 Tony Nelson (MINN) by fall over #3 Alan Gelogaev (OK ST), 4:50

For more information on college wrestling, follow USCS reporter Kyle Carrol on Twitter @jiblitz77.


Photo from Missouri Wrestling

Last Modified:
27 February 2013

Add comment

Security code

US Combat Sports Facebook US Combat Sports Twitter US Combat Sports YouTube US Combat Sports RSS Feed MMA Recap